top of page
  • Writer's pictureAshley

To Part is Such Sweet Sorrow

It's my last day here in Luxembourg and I have to say it is a bittersweet ending. I've laughed and cried, made new friends and had more experiences than I could ever imagine in four months. In this short post, I'm giving out some superlatives for cities I've visited and reflecting on what I have planned next.

Song of the Week: We're Going Home by Vance Joy

 

It's the end of the semester. All my finals are over, and I am trying to fit everything I have into two suitcases. As a last hurrah, we are visiting a Christmas Market and doing some some last minute shopping. As the hours wind down, I have a lot of mixed emotions about being back in the US. I am somewhat anxious about taking the next step in my life and having to face more adult responsibilities. I know that I am better equipped to handle challenges in life but it's still a little scary taking that next step.



This semester wouldn't have been the same without the friends I made along the way. From our first moien to our last addi, this semester has been special because of the memories we shared together. We have laughed, cried, gotten lost, and traveled across Europe during these four months and we are better people because of everything we have been through together. Even though we will see each other again soon, saying goodbye was one of the hardes moments of the program. I know we will stay in touch, but our goodbyes signify the end of an important chapter in our lives, and it means we have to move on to the next one.



Let's take a look at this semester by the numbers and give out some superlatives for cities.

Countries: 12. Cities: 18. Flights: 16. International trains: 6. Miles walked: 443. Memories: Too many to count.


City I wish I had spent less time in: Brussels

City I wish I had spent more time in: Prague

Best city to visit during the off season: Nice

City where I am most likely to live if I move to Europe: Lisbon

Best city to take a day trip: Metz


"It's a funny thing, coming home. Nothing changes. Everything looks the same, feels the same, even smells the same. You realize what's changed is you." -- F. Scott Fitzgerald

This quote sums it all up. My experience here has been incredible but it is time to come home. I know I have changed, and I hope it is for the better. So, Addi (Goodbye) from Luxembourg, and I'll be seeing everyone soon.


 

Until next time, I'll keep wandering.

11 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page